Book Nomination Process

The deadline for the 2016 AAAS Book Nominations will be in July 2015. Please check back as we work to make our book nomination process online this year.

Asian AmericanAwards 4Each year, we recognize outstanding achievements  in the following categories:

  • Social Science
  • Literary Criticism
  • Cultural Studies
  • History
  • Creative Writing: Poetry
  • Creative Writing: Prose

The Award recipients receive acknowledgement from the Association for Asian American Studies Board and general membership. The Book Awards will be presented at our annual conference, April 28-30, 2016, Miami, Florida. The Book Award Committee Chair and/or the President will honor the recipient with an etched plaque commemorating the author/s and their work. Award winners will also be announced in the conference program, through the AAAS listserv, and on the AAAS website.

Book Award Committees will review titles in consideration for the 2016 awards for each of the categories listed above. Each Committee is selected by the Board of the Association for Asian American Studies and is composed of three members who are specialists in the designated fields.

Nomination Instructions:

1. Complete AAAS 2016 Book Award Nomination Submission Form.

The category for which a work is to be nominated should be specified by the author. It is solely the author’s responsibility to ensure that the book is submitted for the proper category and year.

2. Ship five (5) copies of the nominated title along with the Nomination Form to the address below. Please note that books without a specified category will not be prioritized for review.

Tamara Ko
0615 SW Palatine Hill Road MSC 102
Portland, OR 97219

Your completed application and copies of the work must be post-marked no later than the July 2015 deadline in order to be considered for the 2016 AAAS Book Award at the 2016 AAAS conference.

Decisions from the Book Award Committees will be made by January 1st, 2016 and are final. We will notify Award recipients and publishers by February 1st, 2016. The award will be presented to the author/s at the 2016 Annual Meeting of the Association for Asian American Studies in Miami, Florida.

If you would like to nominate more than one title, please complete a new form for each title.

Please direct questions to the AAAS Book Awards Committee Co-Chairs:
Daniel Kim ( and Grace Wang (