Social Science Caucus Research Award Winners 2023

Congratulations to this year’s Social Science Caucus Outstanding Research Article Award Winners!

The winners for the Faculty Research Article Award are:

  • Stanley Ilango Thangaraj  for ““We share the same ancestry”: US Kurdish diasporas and the aspirational and ascriptive practices of race” published in American Anthropologist.
  • Ken Chih-Yan Sun and Nazli Kibria  for “The Micro-politics of Recognition and Care: How Adult Children in Urban China Negotiate Relationships with Emigrant Siblings” published in Social Problems.

The winner of the Graduate Student Research Paper Award is Bianca Mabute-Louie for “How Chinese American Christians Use Religion to Frame Racial Injustice: From #BlackLivesMatter to #StopAsianHate.”

Honorable Mention was given to Chen Liang for “The Asian American Unelectable Paradox: How Racialization Shapes Asian American Political Candidates’ and Organizers’ Experiences in a Minority Context.”

The Social Science Caucus would also like to send a big congratulations to Nadia Kim for receiving the AAAS Outstanding Social Science Book Award for Refusing Death: Immigrant Women and the Fight for Environmental Justice in LA (Stanford)

And Thuy Linh Nguyen Tu for receiving Honorable Mention for Experiments in Skin: Race and Beauty in the Shadows of Vietnam (Duke)